Saturday, 27 February 2010

Bring back the Anglo Scottish cup.

I would like to see the return of the Anglo Scottish cup.
What about sides in the English league one and Scottish teams in the premier and first division that did not qualify for the European trophies.
So if the top 22 sides in Scotland have 5 sides in Europe that means 17 sides from the country in the trophy. Plus about 24 sides in league one. So that means about 41 sides.
Have groups of 4. So 6 games a year plus a knockout stage.
Now obviously 4 does not go equally in 41 equally. So you would need to find 3 other sides these could be from league two or the Scottish second division.
So a target would be 44 teams in each year,
So that is 11 groups of 4.
You could have the top teams in each group going through plus the best 5 runners up.

I would love to see my sides play some average sized English sides of similar level.
The old trophy got very good crowds similar to European trophies.
It was actually abandoned because the English clubs were too successful not because of lack of attendances so if we dropped it to league one level you could have more competitive trophy.
It would be great perpetration for European football for Scottish sides in the premier. I would not like to see a British league as traveling to England each week is too much of an ask for clubs in Northern Scotland. But some one off games in a cup would be a novelty and fun for the fans.
It would be a decent level of a tournament.
There are normally some good names in league one like at present Leeds United, Norwich City, Charlton Athletic, Norwich City, Swindon, Tranmere. OK you would not moramlly expect a Leeds United, but there are always a few teams who have a good name. Plus the rest of them are all decent sides.
These would get attention from the fans.
Texaco Cup

Season Winners Runners-up Aggregate score
1970–71 Wolverhampton Wanderers Heart of Midlothian 3–2
1971–72 Derby County Airdrieonians 2–1
1972–73 Ipswich Town Norwich City 4–2
1973–74 Newcastle United Burnley 2–1
1974–75 Newcastle United Southampton 3–1

Anglo Scottish Cup

Season Winners Runners-up Aggregate score
1975–76 Middlesbrough Fulham 1–0
1976–77 Nottingham Forest Leyton Orient 5–1
1977–78 Bristol City St. Mirren 3–2
1978–79 Burnley Oldham Athletic 4–1
1979–80 St. Mirren Bristol City 5–1
1980–81 Chesterfield Notts County 2–1
Isle of Man Houses